Doing Business dans les Etats membres de l’OHADA 2012

Auteur : Subnational Doing Business
Date de publication : Jan 25, 2012 (1537,5 KB PDF)

Télécharger

Synthèse

Créée en 1993 à Port-Louis (Ile Maurice), l’OHADA est une organisation panafricaine qui vise à établir un cadre juridique uniforme régissant les activités commerciales dans ses Etats membres : le Bénin, le Burkina Faso, le Cameroun, les Comores, la Côte d’Ivoire, le Gabon, la Guinée, la Guinée-Bissau, la Guinée équatoriale, le Mali, le Niger, la République centrafricaine, la République du Congo, le Sénégal, le Tchad et le Togo. Le rapport prend en compte les réglementations nationales et locales relatives à 10 étapes de la vie d’une petite ou moyenne entreprise locale : création d’entreprise, obtention des permis de construire, raccordement à l’électricité, transfert de propriété, obtention de prêts, protection des investisseurs, paiement des taxes et impôts, commerce transfrontalier, exécution des contrats, solutionnement de l’insolvabilité.

Les principaux messages

  • Cette année, la réforme de l’Acte uniforme relatif au droit commercial général dans la région a permis de simplifier la création d’entreprise dans huit Etats membres, et a renforcé le droit des sûretés pour l’obtention des prêts dans chacun des seize Etats membres.
  • Au cours des six dernières années, tous les Etats membres de l’OHADA ont rendu plus facile de faire des affaires. Les réformes ont réduit en moyenne les coûts nécessaires pour créer une entreprise de 67% du revenu moyen par habitant. La durée moyenne pour enregistrer un titre de propriété a également été réduite de 28%.
  • L’OHADA est une région qui impose des réglementations lourdes et coûteuses aux entrepreneurs locaux : ses Etats membres se trouvent en moyenne à la 166ème position sur 183 économies mesurées dans le rapport global Doing Business 2012.
  • Le partage des bonnes pratiques permettrait aux Etats membres de se rapprocher des économies les plus performantes dans le monde.
  • Aucune économie ne surpasse les autres dans tous les domaines de Doing Business. Les variations importantes dans la réglementation des affaires au sein de la région indiquent que la marge de progression est considérable.
  • Pour certains des indicateurs mesurés, les économies de la région se comparent aux plus performantes dans le monde. Par exemple, il faut seulement 5 jours pour créer une entreprise au Sénégal, autant qu’au Canada et moins qu’en France. L’obtention d’un permis de construire prend 98 jours au Burkina Faso, soit trois mois de moins que la moyenne de l’Union européenne.

Doing Business dans les Etats membres de l’OHADA 2012 a été rédigé au sein du Groupe de la Banque Mondiale, dans le cadre du Programme de réforme du droit des affaires de l’OHADA. Ce programme inclut l’appui aux Etats membres de l’OHADA et à son Secrétariat Permanent dans l’adoption de réformes et l’application de l’ensemble des lois communes.

Doing Business in OHADA 2012

Report is published in French

Author: Subnational Doing Business
Published: Jan 25, 2012

(1537.5 KB PDF)

Download Now

Overview

The Organization for the Harmonization of Business Law in Africa (OHADA) is a pan-African organization which aims to establish a uniform legal framework governing business activities in the economies covered by this report: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Republic of Congo, Côte d'Ivoire, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Mali, Niger, Senegal, and Togo. The report focuses on national and local regulations that affect 10 stages in the life of a small to medium-size domestic firm: starting a business, dealing with construction permits, getting electricity, registering property, getting credit, protecting investors, paying taxes, trading across borders, enforcing contracts and resolving insolvency.

Main Findings

  • This year, the first revision of the body of commercial laws in the region simplified business entry in 8 member states and strengthened secured transaction laws in all 16 member states.
  • In the past 6 years, all OHADA Member States made it easier to do business. Across the region, the average cost to start a business decreased by 67% of the average per capita income. The average time required to register property also decreased by 28%.
  • OHADA is a region that imposes heavy and costly regulations for local entrepreneurs: the average ranking of the OHADA member states is 166 out of the 183 economies measured in the global Doing Business 2012 report.
  • Sharing good practices could bring OHADA Member States closer to global top performers.
  • No single economy outperforms the others across the board. The wide variation in business regulation across the region points to ample room for improvement.
  • In certain categories measured, the region’s economies are comparable to the world’s best performers. By setting up a one stop shop, starting a business in Senegal takes only 5 days, same as in Canada and faster than in France. After 4 years of successive reforms, obtaining construction permits in Burkina Faso takes only 98 days, 3 month faster than the European Union average.

Doing Business in OHADA Member States 2012 was prepared as part of the OHADA Business Law Reform Program of the World Bank Group. The program includes support to the OHADA Member States and the OHADA Permanent Secretariat in reforming and implementing the common set of laws.

Note: This graphic captures the absolute improvement that countries have made over time toward the most efficient practice or highest score achieved by any economy (the "frontier"). It includes data on nine Doing Business indicator sets (excluding the employing workers and getting electricity indicators) since 2005. Among 183 economies worldwide, Georgia closed the most gap to the frontier of best regulatory practices for local entrepreneurs (27.8 percentage points), followed by Rwanda, Belarus and Burkina Faso.
Source: Doing Business database.

More Information

 Press Release: Progress in regulatory reform expands business opportunities across OHADA member states

 Presentation (in French, 2 mb ppt file)